PDA

View Full Version : Developed paper yellow

Henk
6-Nov-2018, 05:17
Hello All,

I am new to LFF, so Hi !

Yesterday I developed some prints that have a strong yellow cast.
I suspect my developer, which is PQ universal 4 years old which was very brown

Does an expired developer does indeed give "yellow" prints ? Or do I have another problem ?

I tested on (new) Ilfobrom grade 3 and on (1 year old) Ilford MG IV Fiber.

Thanks !

Jim Noel
6-Nov-2018, 06:27
Try some fresh developer. Also, use fresh fixer fo adequate time.

koraks
6-Nov-2018, 06:39
An old developer may indeed give excessively warm tones, associated with very long development times and low contrast. A PQ developer concentrate should be colorless to light yellow. Brown is not good; it means particularly the hydroquinone has partly oxidized.

Fresh fixer as Jim says is a good idea; problems with fixer mostly manifest themselves in the final wash or after drying; initially the print looks fine but a yellow or pink cast appears as the print is exposed to normal light. Developer-related "toning" is immediately visible as you flip on the lights after fix or stop.

Henk
6-Nov-2018, 07:00
Ok, thanks. I hope this is indeed the issue.
I need to print more...
The past few years I did a lot of hybrid workflow (scan 4x5 and print on inkjet) which yields also very good results and "easier" editing of the prints.
But I like darkroom work and I am going to learn to print on graded paper.
The new PQ universal is ordered and on its way...

Doremus Scudder
6-Nov-2018, 12:44
Henk,

If the image itself (not the paper base) is yellow, then it's your developer. If the paper base has yellowed it's likely due to insufficient fixing (i.e., you fixer is dead).

You'll find it more economical in the long run to work with fresh chemicals... really saves on wasted paper.

Best,

Doremus

Henk
6-Nov-2018, 23:44
Thanks Doremus,
Yesterday I did a quick test with fresh HC110 dil A and fresh fixer.