PDA

View Full Version : Purchase of camera

Tom Arnhold
27-Sep-2005, 15:51
I want to purchase a camera and I am just starting out. What lens or camera does anyone recomend? I have heard of several inexpensive, but good chinese cameras.

Ted Harris
27-Sep-2005, 16:30
A great place to start is by reading the information on this website .... you can click on the link at the top of this page or just go to http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

steve simmons
27-Sep-2005, 17:03
You might want to do some reading

Getting Started in Large Format

that is on our web site

www.viewcamera.com

in the Free Articles section

There is also a lens comparison chart to help you find lenses equivilent in focal length in lf to what you have in smaller cameras. There will not be an exact match because of the formats are a little different in proportions but the chart will be close

and/or the following books

Using the View Camera that I wrote

User's Guide to the View Camera by Jim Stone

when people make suggestions for cameras ask them the following

what do they photograph

what range of lenses do they use

this will help provide a context for their advice.

Feel free to write with any questions

steve simmons
largformat@aol.com

Frank Petronio
27-Sep-2005, 19:48
Ask Rosanne

John Kasaian
27-Sep-2005, 22:48
I'd also recommend Steve Simmon's excellent book "Using The View Camera" as a good place to start. I found it a valuable resource.

4x5 is probably the most practical format to start out with. Once you have an idea of what kind of photography you want to shoot (landscapes, portraits, handheld etc..) you'll have a better idea what you think you'll want.

OTOH if you just want to go out and play for very little coin, a good Crown Graphic, a few holders, a set of trays and a box of Arista.edu will get you there pronto.

Good luck!

Kirk Fry
28-Sep-2005, 01:24
Tom,