PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a film that can be shot at low asa ( 1 or 2 )

1erCru
13-Oct-2018, 14:58
I’m still a novice shooting LF and recently drew a liking to an artist who shoots still life
Who supposedly shoots 5-6 minute studio exposures at ISO 1-2.

What kind of film can handle this? I’ve been liking the look of some longer exposures I’ve taken
( reciprocity became a factor ).

Can I just play around with something like TMAX 100 at such low asa?

Vaughn
13-Oct-2018, 15:11
I suggest using TMax100 or a 125 ASA film (at their ASA) and use the amount of light and f/stop to control your exposure time. my exposure times for my redwood work with FP4+ (Ilford) can be 30 minutes at f64 or f90.

PS. "Using the amount of light" -- reduce wattage, move lights farther away from subject, etc

LabRat
13-Oct-2018, 15:32
Paper negs about in that ISO range...

Steve K

Denny
13-Oct-2018, 15:51
I would use neutral density filters.

Greg
13-Oct-2018, 16:17
LEE Filter: 100 x 100mm Big Stopper 3.0 (10 stop) Neutral Density Filter
Runs around $130.00. Quality is excellent. When I got the filter, I shot two 4x5 negatives, one without the filter and the other one with the filter in front of the lens. Enlarged both negatives to 8x10s using a glass negative carrier, and you couldn't tell the difference. Since I contact print my LF and ULF negatives, have no qualms about using the filter. Now if I were making 20x24 enlargements, would certainly determine if the image was degraded by the filter.

Two23
13-Oct-2018, 16:48
The only thing I know of are the Lane dry plates. They are ISO 1. I shoot these a lot.

Kent in SD

Nodda Duma
13-Oct-2018, 17:04
The only thing I know of are the Lane dry plates. They are ISO 1. I shoot these a lot.

Kent in SD

Kent's been doing some fine work... he's actually shooting my plates more than I am (not hard to do with my schedule as of late).