PDA

View Full Version : Sironar-N and Sironar-S Shutter swap possible?

Matted
12-Oct-2018, 20:13
I currently own a Sironar-N 210 in Copal 1 shutter and am looking at purchasing a Sironar-S 210 in Copal Press 1 shutter to replace it (for the extra coverage). I have never used a Copal Press shutter before and like the idea of the “self cocking” release, however I will miss having shutter speeds faster than 1/125 of a second.

I may end up loving the Press shutter but in the event that I don’t.... can I just unscrew the cells from each shutter and swap them? I did some searching but could only find info on replacing a shutter of the same type in the same lens, or adding a shutter to a lens that does not have one. It is unclear if this will a) work perfectly b) not work at all and need some work at s.k. Grimes, or c) work but need new aperture scales.

Any input anyone has would be appreciated. Thanks!

Bob Salomon
12-Oct-2018, 20:42
Do you have Sironar N or Apo Sironar N? Both in 210 fit a 1 shutter.

Whatever you do you do not want a Copal Press, if you want a press shutter then you only want a Prontor Press 01 shutter. Otherwise you want a Copal 1 with the proper scales!

The Prontor Press 01 has speeds to 250. The Prontor Press goes to 125.

Matted
12-Oct-2018, 21:56
Thanks for the reply Bob! I have a “plain” Sironar-N (Marked as MC and with “Sinar” engraved on the lens, although it is NOT branded as Sinaron S. Serial number puts it in the early 80s.

Can you elaborate on why I don’t want the Copal Press under any circumstances? Is it the limited shutter speed or something else that I am overlooking? If all of this is as simple as swapping shutters, my intention would be to sell the Sironar-N with press shutter. If that will kill the value (or require further calibration) then it would be a bad idea I am thinking.

As I type this I am realizing that I should just wait for a 210 S in Copal 1 at the right price.

Bob Salomon
12-Oct-2018, 22:11