PDA

View Full Version : water conditioning

ShannonG
5-Oct-2018, 07:33
Hi all,well we got into our new place.A acreage with a house and 2 large out buildings.One of the buildings is being renovated for my new studio with darkroom..Ive been renting studio space for 22 years.Ive built darkrooms in both locations.This would be the 3rd one but all mine.I got a water line and drain dug in last week to the building.The water comes straight from the well.The house has a water system but the new line bypasses the house.I called the # on the unit and he is coming out next week to test the new line.He said the well is heavy,iron =4 parts per mil.hardness is 2.0grains per gal.(but they are gonna test again) So to those who had to deal with this kind of thing what am i to expect here,Lots of $ for a filtration system?what is your experience?Haven't had this problem with my other 2 darkrooms as they were on city water.Thanks for any help.

Willie
5-Oct-2018, 16:37
Try a 5 micron filter on the line before a water softener and a 1 micron filter after the softener. Will give you clean water.
Others will have to give you info on dealing with iron in the water.

neil poulsen
5-Oct-2018, 19:21
You might consider using distilled water for the developer, and maybe for the stop and fixer as well.

Peter Collins
5-Oct-2018, 19:31