PDA

View Full Version : Framing Loupe?

hisforeverplus
3-Oct-2018, 23:10
I'm new to LF and I have been watching some videos were the photographer adjusts a loupe for what lens they will be using and look through it to figure out their composition. Does anyone know what this is and where to buy one? I appreciate it. Thanks...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
cong ty rut ham cau (https://ruthamcau.suu.vn/rut-ham-cau-tai-cac-quan-tphcm.html) gia re uy tin hcm
công ty rút hầm cầu (https://ruthamcau.suu.vn/rut-ham-cau-tai-cac-quan-tphcm.html) chất lượng tận tâm

bieber
3-Oct-2018, 23:15
Like a director's viewfinder?

Pere Casals
4-Oct-2018, 01:05
the photographer adjusts a loupe for what lens

Probably it's an spot meter to decide exposure and possible custom development of the sheet film. If you provide a link to the video and mm:ss we'll know it for sure.

LF photographers rarely would use external optics for composing (except with on camera viewfinders/rangefinders, usually for handheld shooting), let me make a joke: the masters do compose by just smelling a bit the scene :)

Zooms are not used In LF , so if wanting to shot from a certain point (because of perpective) perhaps we won't have the exact focal that is to frame like we want, no problem, we always can shot wider and then cropping the image, we have lots of image quality so often cropping is not an issue and then final framing is decided in the darkroom, but a lot of people won't never crop because their crafting style.

You may (or should) develop the skills to compose, frame and visualize with just your naked eyes, IMHO this is the best way.