PDA

View Full Version : Ebony 6x9 for 4x5?

Andrew Ito
15-Sep-2005, 12:56
So I've been shooting with a sweet little Ebony 23S for around 5 years or so. It's gotten a new bellows from Hiromi in Japan and he outfitted it with the Horseman angle viewer. I also acquired a Maxwell screen for it and it focuses just beautifully. No fresnel lines at all and so smooth to look at even under higher magnification loupes. Lately though, I've found that I miss the 4x5 proportion that I liked shooting with so much in the earlier days. The convenience of 120 film is incredible and so is the price of processing though so I'm torn. I've got a few cases of Velvia 100 from Japan in the freezer too. (The pre-US Velvia 100. It has very similar characteristics to the old Velvia 50 but at 100 speed. It was sold in Japan but not in the US until recently, but may be a different emulsion.) At any rate, any comments on whether or not I should make the switch? And, anyone care to offer a trade of their Ebony 4x5 for my Ebony 23S with Maxwell screen and Horseman Angle viewer? Email me at: akivisuals(at)yahoo(dot)com

J. Wolfe
15-Sep-2005, 13:54
Pretty funny!

Donald Brewster
15-Sep-2005, 15:42
I'll give you my old Linhof Color for it.

Craig Wactor
15-Sep-2005, 16:00
I'll trade you a 1960's calumet...

Andrew Ito
15-Sep-2005, 16:06
Wow... tough crowd over here... I actually got an offer for a Wisner Tech 5x7 trade on a more serious note. It's not like the Ebony 23S is a slouch or anything...

Craig Wactor
15-Sep-2005, 18:38
Oh, I would love to have one, I just don't have anything to trade that is worthwhile...

George Hart
16-Sep-2005, 00:25