PDA

View Full Version : Conditioning Linhof Master Technika bellows

Embdude
17-Jul-2018, 12:11
I have a 1972 master technika with fine bellows aside from a little dust, which i generally brush off with a soft paintbrush.

I have seen many newer than mine with cracked and crazed bellows. I don't wish this to happen to mine so I ask if there is anything I can do to condition or clean them which will keep them in top shape?

I dont think mine are leather like older models and I am worried that if i use the wrong conditioning method it will result in the crazing and cracking I have seen on others...

Thanks

Bob Salomon
17-Jul-2018, 12:46
If you are in the US call Bob Watkins at Precision in Skokie, IL and get the correct factory answer.

Embdude
17-Jul-2018, 12:57
Thanks!

Embdude
8-Dec-2018, 23:50
Here is what I have found out so far...

Response from Precision Camera:

There is a lot of information online, here ( http://cameracollector.proboards.com/thread/2305/caring-bellows ) is a thread we found where someone poses the question of cleaning the bellows. They suggested venetian cream through Micro-Tools, but it appears that they no longer carry it. However, it is available online through Amazon and multiple other online stores.

I also wrote Linhof HQ and received the following information:

A Technika bellows of this type (leatherette) has usually a life cycle of between 8 and 15 years, depending on fequency of use as well as solar radiation. The best for the bellows is using it. The bellows should never be treated with fat wax or paraffin.

It was noted that foams or other material including plasticizers may damage the bellows when stored together.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen / Kind regards,

LabRat
9-Dec-2018, 04:42