PDA

View Full Version : Linhof Master Technika 2000

Santiago Vanegas
1-Sep-2005, 09:14
I am looking into aquiring a 4x5 to shoot 6x9 on roll film. I'm new to large format, so it's kind of confusing to pick the right lens/camera combination. For 6x9, I am interested in the Rodenstock Wide Angle 75mm f/4.5 Grandagon-N Lens with Copal #0 Shutter. In your opinion, would this lens be a good choice to use with the Linhof Master Technika 2000? Would it be (or not) too cumbersum to use on the Technika 2000? If it is too cumbersum, what other 4x5 or 6x9 would you recommend?

John_4185
1-Sep-2005, 09:55
One special advantage of the Technika is that it's a real field camera that can fold into itself. I do not know if will close with a Grandagon-N 75mm. If it does not, and the 75mm is your main lens, then the Technika is not the way to go, IMHO.

Bob Salomon
1-Sep-2005, 10:09
Get too many answers from too many places and you will simply get confused. Best let the person who contacted you help you. He can direct you to dealers in your area who can show you the camera and the lenses. Then you can see for yourself.

Michael Kadillak
1-Sep-2005, 11:40
If all you are interested in is shooting 6x9, a Fuji rangefinder with either the 65mm or 90mm can be had for about 1/5 the cost of the Linhof. These cameras have been discontinued, do not have view camera movements and have one fixed focal length lens affixed to a camera body, but are amazingly effective at doing their job. They can be had in the used market.

I shoot the Master Technika and just sold the 6x9 back I had for it. Never used it because when the Linhof came along I was inherently always reaching for 4x5 film holders to take maximum advantage of the image area and the movements. A heavy expensive camera for 6x9 use only IMHO.

Good Luck

David A. Goldfarb
1-Sep-2005, 14:03