PDA

View Full Version : Lens set based on field of view (FOV)?

pete22230
17-Mar-2018, 16:38
Hi everyone;
I'm a newbie to LF and thinking about lens sets. I currently have 2 lenses: a rodenstock 80mm f5.6 Grandagon (not a Grandagon-N) and a schneider symmar-s 180mm f5.6. I find I am looking at scenes from an "I want more/less field of view" (FOV) point of view rather than a "more/less focal length" (FL) point of view. I understand that there is a gross relationship between FOV and FL but depending on lens manufacturer/design it can be somewhat nebulous. Since I don't have full specs on the Grandagon I'm unsure of it's actual FOV but I would think it's 100+ degrees vs about 70 degrees for the Symmar-S. So on occasion I have found myself wishing for something between the 2. I also figure at some point I'll be getting a longer lens like a Nikkor M 300mm or maybe even a Nikkor T-ED 360mm. So what would you folks recommend for an in-between lens between my existing and that would have A) hopefully about an 85 degree FOV B) a modest lens hood diameter so filters are easy C) a bright lens say f5.6 D) a maximum image circle and E) light weight F) sharpness. Not asking for much am I!!!! Reading up on this I came across reference to a 120mm Schneider Super-Symmar HM that looked interesting but I'm sure there must be other choices. Any thoughts you might have would sure be appreciated.
Many thanks
Pete

Dan Fromm
17-Mar-2018, 18:03
Oh, dear. You're confusing the angle the film sees with the angle the lens covers. If the lens covers it, the angle the film sees is given by focal length.

On 4x5, an 80 mm lens (assuming it covers the format) will give a 61 degree vertical angle of view and a 74 degree horizontal angle of view. The diagonal angle of view will be 86 degrees. For a 180 mm lens, 30, 37 and 45.