PDA

View Full Version : Shutter for a Wollensak Velostignat 12" f4.5 ??

MJSkerpon
21-Feb-2018, 16:33
I am new to LF and have recently taken a wet plate workshop. I am in the process of designing
and building a 8 x 10 camera for use in wet plate. I have acquired a Wollensak Velostignat 12"
f4.5 and am wondering if it is possible to incorporate a shutter into the design? I am doing the
design work in Inventor and will post the plans after completion of the final camera configuration.
Thanks. BTW, this is my first post...

mdarnton
21-Feb-2018, 16:46
The proper shutter is a Betax No 5, but good luck finding one. A Packard shutter behind the lens would be sufficient for wet plate, I think.

Or a hat.

Greg
21-Feb-2018, 17:13
Look for a lens in terrible shape but with a working Betax No. 5 shutter. Last year I needed a Copal No 3 shutter. Several were up at auction but for many hundreds of dollars each. I waited and finally found a lens that was all scratched up but in a Copal No 3 shutter from a dealer in Japan at a bargain price. Dealer was happy to sell it to me and I was overjoyed to buy it.

michael_los_angeles_photo
21-Feb-2018, 22:37