PDA

View Full Version : Developing times HC110 (B), TMY2, SP 445 tank, Patterson 2 reel tank

Bill Poole
24-Jan-2018, 14:20
I have never used HC 110, but am trying to develop a workflow where I can mix all chemicals from concentrate for each session. (This due to a lack of space for storing jugs of premixed chems.)

I understand the mixing instructions and dilutions, but the Kodak data sheet and the Massive Development Ap vary on development times, and the data sheet has different times for tank sizes and film formats. All times are relatively short, so variance could make a difference--or maybe not. As I say, I am new to this developer.

So I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has used HC110 (B) with TMY2 at 400 ISO in either:

+4x5 in a SP 445 tank

+ 120 roll film in a Patterson 2 reel tank.

Thanks for your help.

Bill

Bruce Watson
24-Jan-2018, 15:58
I understand the mixing instructions and dilutions, but the Kodak data sheet and the Massive Development Ap vary on development times, and the data sheet has different times for tank sizes and film formats. All times are relatively short, so variance could make a difference--or maybe not. As I say, I am new to this developer.

So I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has used HC110 (B) with TMY2 at 400 ISO in either:

HC110 is, in my experience anyway, a relatively active developer that gives fairly short development times. I committed to continuous agitation early on, and found I could just get HC110 to work with 5x4 Tri-X, but dilution B gave me a time of 5 minutes; I had to go to dilution H just to be comfortable, but that's a lot of working strength developer -- hit the limit of what my Jobo tank could deal with.

When I switched to TMY2, HC110 just wasn't possible (no combinations would give me a development time I could live with), so I switched over to XTOL, which I was very happy with. But it won't solve your problem. Sigh...