PDA

View Full Version : Voigtländer Euryscop IVa #5: coverage??

thegreatcornholio
14-Jan-2018, 04:30
Dear Folks,

I was offered a Voigtländer Euryscop IVa No. 5, about 46cm/f7 brass lens. I tested that one on a 40x50cm camera yesterday for the first time and it seemed that the lens covers the format at infinity. Since bad weather I couldn't try this outside with a 'real' infinity focus.
1/ Does anyone have experience with the IVa series and knows if 40x50cm is covered by the lens?
2/ What price would you consider ok? The lens has no flange and a bigger scratch on the front lens...

Thanks in advance and have a nice weekend!

rbiemer
14-Jan-2018, 09:34
I have no experience of that lens but Pacific Rim Camera have a pdf of a Voigtlander price list and in that Voigtlander says 11 x 14 inches is the plate size for that lens.
https://www.pacificrimcamera.com/rl/00727/00727.pdf

Rob

thegreatcornholio
14-Jan-2018, 23:36
Ah this one is great Rob, thank you... Well 11x14 is too little but maybe stopped down it will work on 16x20", who knows.

Max

Steven Tribe
15-Jan-2018, 03:08
The series IVa is from 1905 and the German catalogue shows very different coverage - without giving data for "fully open" and "small stops".

The no. 5, focal length 46cm and 36mm opening is recommended for just 18x24cm,

No. 10 - at focal length of 137cm - is for 40x50cm.

I wouldn't take these catalogue coverages seriously, though!

We cannot comment on specific value of items. The IVa and VIIa series were short lived - that is, uncommon - but this doesn't really influence value. You can no longer get an idea of value from completed ebay sales as similar items appear so infrequently. The professional/semi-professional listers (With a few exceptions) are mostly in denial about the true value of their items and the same lenses are listed week after week, month after month and year after year.