PDA

View Full Version : I need FIX Hardner: ALUM?

Tin Can
8-Jan-2018, 14:18
I can't find my Steve Anchell Cookbook or Beyond Monochrome. I will sooner or later.

I want to add hardener to TF5. I Have Kodak QF with Kodak Hardner on the way. I don't want to wait.

I bought powdered Alum today at the grocer. Photographers Formulary also sells it in powder form. My can is labeled 'ALUM Powdered' "This colorless, odorless, crystalline powder is useful for dying fabrics". It was in the food spice section.

How much by weight to 1000 ml TF5 standard working solution of 1+3=4, should I try?

Has anyone used spice rack Alum as hardner?

I will use it on EFKE film and glass plates, both new and old.

koraks
8-Jan-2018, 14:40
Iirc, the potassium alum in the spice rack is much less effective as a hardener than the chrome alum I usually come across in ingredients lists. I have no experience with potassium alum, but it's something to keep in mind when mixing stuff; you'll likely need much more of the potassium salt than of the chrome salt if that's what's indicated in your formula.

Out of sheer curiosity: what do you need a hardener for? I've never come across a situation myself where I needed one with regular materials; only for gelatin sizing papers for alt processes.

Tin Can
8-Jan-2018, 14:56
Iirc, the potassium alum in the spice rack is much less effective as a hardener than the chrome alum I usually come across in ingredients lists. I have no experience with potassium alum, but it's something to keep in mind when mixing stuff; you'll likely need much more of the potassium salt than of the chrome salt if that's what's indicated in your formula.

Out of sheer curiosity: what do you need a hardener for? I've never come across a situation myself where I needed one with regular materials; only for gelatin sizing papers for alt processes.

EFKE film and glass plate dry emulsions.

Steve Goldstein
8-Jan-2018, 15:03