PDA

View Full Version : Starter LF Lens

alechosterman
31-Dec-2017, 13:27
Hello all.

I'm new to LF but not photography. I need a suggestion for an inexpensive introductory lens. For context, here's my story:

My father was downsizing his place and gave me his 5x7 Eastman View Camera No. 2 that he refinished many years ago. The bellows are tight and no light leaks are apparent. Also came with three film holders. However, the lens it came with doesn't work - I'm thinking it's original to the camera and age is just the cause (the shutter doesn't open and close).

I'm perusing Adorama, B&H, and eBay and finding quite a few different lenses, all ranging in manufacturer and price. I'm familiar with DSLR and mirrorless, some MF, but LF brands are new to me.

Do you have a recommendation for a sub-$300 introductory lens that I could purchase to test out LF photography? I'm probably going to photograph nature scenes if that helps.

Many thanks!
Alec

Corran
31-Dec-2017, 13:32
210mm Symmar-S should set you back about $200 or less. That's the "standard" focal length for 5x7. If you want a wider lens, something in the 120-150mm area would be more appropriate. I'll let others comments because I don't shoot 5x7 myself but the 210mm Symmar I know covers with plenty to spare and is cheap, so I thought I'd mention that one first.

David Karp
31-Dec-2017, 13:35
A 210mm Caltar II-N is a very good lens in the normal range for 5x7. Should be around $200. The lens is made by Rodenstock. The equivalent Rodenstock APO Sironar-N should be around the same price.

Bob Salomon
31-Dec-2017, 13:53
210mm Symmar-S should set you back about $200 or less. That's the "standard" focal length for 5x7. If you want a wider lens, something in the 120-150mm area would be more appropriate. I'll let others comments because I don't shoot 5x7 myself but the 210mm Symmar I know covers with plenty to spare and is cheap, so I thought I'd mention that one first.