PDA

View Full Version : Super Angulon 90mm f8 fstop scale off kilter

rachjak
21-Dec-2017, 12:38
Newbie here, acting on LF photography fantasies stimulated by the images of Thomas Struth. Bought a used (I guess they're all used at this point) SA 90mm f8 for my Sinar F1 in a McDonald's parking lot and didn't notice until I got it home that the pointer on the fstop scale goes well beyond the end of the scale (beyond f8) when the lens aperture is all the way open. Pushing it back to f8, I notice the aperture is slightly narrower than the lens pupil - partially stopped down, in other words. Do I need to find a way to recalibrate the scale? The action in the aperture is smooth, slow shutter speeds test well, glass is nice and clean, etc. I appreciate any feedback.

ic-racer
21-Dec-2017, 12:48
Copal aperture scales sometimes have a number. Does yours?

Louis Pacilla
21-Dec-2017, 12:52
A picture of the lens would help but my hunch tells me the 90 SA f8 scale is just as it should be and your just suffering from the nervous newbie syndrome.

rachjak
21-Dec-2017, 13:08
A picture of the lens would help but my hunch tells me the 90 SA f8 scale is just as it should be and your just suffering from the nervous newbie syndrome.
No doubt I'm nervous - this ain't a cheap hobby I'm finding out. In this case I think my anxiety stems from the fact that lens seems to be partially covered by aperture elements at f8 which, on an f8 lens, would presumably mean the lens should be wide open. No?

adelorenzo
21-Dec-2017, 13:18
I'll try to remember to check mine when I get home tonight but IIRC it works the same. I wouldn't worry about it.

Steve Goldstein
21-Dec-2017, 13:39