PDA

View Full Version : Polaroid 55 clearing problems

Kip Duff
4-Aug-2005, 09:02
Hi: I'm new to group- looks excellent!
Havn't shot 55 in 17 years and I can't remember exactly how I cleared the jelly. I have the Yankee tank that I used to use and the 70 oz of Kodak sodium sulfite solution. Most of the jelly won't come off- I have to wipe it off with my fingers. The emulsion is relatively hard and does not fall off in sheets like it used to. It disolves rather than come off in bulk- and it really doesn't disolve all the way: that's why I say I have to massage it off with wet fingers in the SS solution. I am beginning to think it might be a bad box of film because nothing I see in any forums resembles this situation. I have posted to Polaroid directly for help, but no reply yet. Also, when I try to remove film from 545 processor without processing, frequently film does not lift and becomes exposed!? I have ordered the Ansel Adams Polaroid book and should receive it shortly (but I've heard 55 has changed components since his time). I wanted to get some feedback before I buy another box from a different vendor. (I have also posted this at photo.net) Thanks, Kip.

David A. Goldfarb
4-Aug-2005, 09:07
That's how it is. I alternate between a water rinse and the sulfite bath and a little rubbing with my fingertips, and it comes off.

Jerry Flynn
4-Aug-2005, 09:11
I'm having the same issue with the clearing and agree that it does not seem to work like the old days.

As to removing the film from the holder without processing: according to the instructions that came with my holder, while holding the release button in, push the film out of the holder with your thumbs. In other words, you cannot just grab the envelope and pull from the end the way you would when processing.

Donald Hutton
4-Aug-2005, 10:14
Heico Permaclear works a treat for clearing type 55 negs - much better the straight sulfite solution.

Bosaiya
4-Aug-2005, 10:30