PDA

View Full Version : Film

Jonas Schnuapenheimer
29-Jul-2005, 14:00
Hello everyone, my name is Jonas.

I am new to LF photography and want to make a decision on which film to use with my newly acquired Canham DLC 45.

In LF does film speed make that much of a difference? For example, should I use 400 speed film or 100 speed film. Should I use the Delta, Tmax, or traditional films. What are the differences in the way the pictures look?

What do most of the LF guys us with respect to 4x5 film?

Thanks all,

Jonas

Ron Marshall
29-Jul-2005, 14:29
Hi Jonas,

I am new to LF and do not have extensive experience with many films, also I do only B/W.
But I have tried several films: Ilford FP4+ (100 ASA) fine grain traditional emulsion, Koodak T-max 100 fine grain good reciprocity charecteristics , T-max 400 a bit larger grain than 100 ASA films but not too bad, especially for 4x5, but a bit less acuity. Fuji Acros 100 same as T-max but slightly better reciprocity charecteristics.
I find T-max 100 or Acros the best for scanning and FP4+ the best for the enlarger.
I only use Acros at night to reduce exposure times, because it is more expensive than T-max 100.
FP4+ is not available in readyloads, the other films are.

Bill_1856
29-Jul-2005, 14:35
Kodak Tri-X and Ilford FP-5 are both hard to beat. What film do you use in other formats?

John Kasaian
29-Jul-2005, 15:00
Jonas,

IMHO its "horses for courses" For night photography or where wind is stirring things up I'll shoot faster film and slower film for everything else, just as I did with my 35 SLR. As a practical matter though, I seldom have two different films on hand in the field (ready loads aren't an option in 8x10)

I know I'm fighting a loosing war with the Great Yellow Father in Rochester, but I really like Tri-X in my Crown Graphic---but I like to shoot handheld too, so "faster" is a good thing.