PDA

View Full Version : Ilford Galerie Fiber dev'd w/ Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol, thoughts?

Corran
12-Nov-2017, 13:51
Just curious if anyone has comments on the tonality, color, or whatever of Ilford Galerie (G2 or 3) in either Ansco 130, Neutol WA, or Dektol?

I'm giving Galerie a try to see how I like it. I have never used a graded paper before. These are the 3 developers I have on hand - though I would consider something else if it's imperative.

Of course I'll try a variety of things but just thought I would ask.

Jim Noel
12-Nov-2017, 13:54
Expose the same negative on each and see which you like.

Corran
12-Nov-2017, 14:05
Yes, I know...just curious to hear other's thoughts and experience.

esearing
13-Nov-2017, 05:35
It may be more beneficial to make a scientific guess at the expected outcomes and then determine if you achieve the expected results.
I would expect that the Neutol WA will produce a flatter/warmer image than the other two - unless you expose longer and/or develop longer.
Never used the Ansco 130 but I would expect it to be deeper blacks.
I hate dektol. Not because of its tonality but because of its short lifespan .

While you are at it - Try split developing - 1/3 time in cold developer (or until blacks form) + rinse + time in warm developer to completion.
and other way around. Note its effect on midtones.

bob carnie
13-Nov-2017, 06:44
I use Ilford Galerie paper- digital paper but basically a grade 4 and I have used dectol and the Ilford Multigrade I like them both..

Corran
13-Nov-2017, 09:26