PDA

View Full Version : How many Voightlander #7 lenses?

Jac@stafford.net
28-Oct-2017, 16:53
How many Voightlander #7 lenses?

Forgive, I am not an expert. Looking at, for example, the 'bay offerings there two, perhaps three different Voightlander '7' lenses and I know there is another, a Portrait 7. How to differentiate, please?

Mark Sawyer
28-Oct-2017, 18:15
Voigtlander's first Series is the Portrait Petzval, and comes in a size 7. It's other Series are all Euryscops; the Series II, IV, and VII come in size 7, and the Series III and VI come in size 7a. There's also a no-series Wide Angle Euryscop and a Landscape Lens that come in size 7. All are of different focal lengths and apertures, of course...

Jim Fitzgerald
28-Oct-2017, 20:01
I have a #7 Petzval circa 1877.

Jac@stafford.net
29-Oct-2017, 09:42
Voigtlander's first Series is the Portrait Petzval, and comes in a size 7. It's other Series are all Euryscops; the Series II, IV, and VII come in size 7, and the Series III and VI come in size 7a. There's also a no-series Wide Angle Euryscop and a Landscape Lens that come in size 7. All are of different focal lengths and apertures, of course...

Thank you, Mark.
So, size 7 does not indicate focal length or aperture. What does the number indicate? Price point? Weight? Coverage? I'm puzzled.

Dan Fromm
29-Oct-2017, 10:10
Jac, its an old convention. Some, not all, lens makers used to designate lenses by series and by number within series. Series sometimes, not always, corresponded to design type.

Lens number corresponds to focal length within series. There's no relationship between a manufacturers' numbers across series and there's no relationship between numbers between manufacturers. For most makers, a higher number indicates a longer focal length. For most. Hermagis (later Berthiot) Eidoscopes' number decrease as focal length increases.

In short, there were no rules and the rules weren't enforced.

Steven Tribe
29-Oct-2017, 10:50