PDA

View Full Version : Process lenses

lenser
28-Oct-2017, 09:04
Am I correct that other than the lack of a shutter and the fact that they are flat field, process lenses from a newspaper or print shop style copy camera will work just fine for traditional large format shooting? Please share your experience and knowledge of any draw backs.

desertrat
28-Oct-2017, 09:23
I have a couple of process lenses, but am hardly an expert. Many use process lenses when they want a longer than normal focal length for their format. Most process lenses have a fairly narrow field of view, so they may not cover the format at a "normal" focal length. A bit longer than normal is usually OK. There are some "wide field" process lenses out there, but I have no experience with those.

Ken Lee
28-Oct-2017, 09:31
You may find this short article helpful: Process Lenses (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/lenses/#Process)

These (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/artar/) photos were made with a 10 3/4 inch Apochromat Artar.
These (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/aponikkor150/index.php) photos were made with a 150mm APO Nikkor.
These (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/aponikkor240/index.php) photos were made with a 240mm APO Nikkor.
These (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/aponikkor610/index.php) photos were made with a 610mm APO Nikkor and here (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/aponikkor610/Nikkor610Test.php) is a resolution test of the 610mm APO Nikkor at infinity distance.

Vaughn
28-Oct-2017, 09:32
I use several of them (8x10 and 11x14).

Their main lack is the lack of a shutter...which for using in the redwoods is not a problem (all exposures are >1 second). Some may not be threaded for filters -- I do not have any handy to check. Coverage may be less relative to 'regular' lenses of the same focal length -- their coverage specs are usually stated at 1:1 rather than at infinity, so one needs to be aware of that.