PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know what is causing this...

MikemMG
25-Sep-2017, 11:30
Hi, I am a new member - although I have been visiting for a few years now.
I have run into a problem and wondered if anyone might be able to advise me what is going on.
Please take a look at the attached image image :170217
as you can see there lots of spots visible and they appear to have a kind of highlighted halo around them.
Ive reviewed the negs carefully and by eye I cannot see the blemished - they are only apparent after scanning.
If anyone has come across this before and wouldn't mind sharing their knowledge I'd be much obliged.

Thanks

Mike

chassis
25-Sep-2017, 12:02
Debris is in the system somewhere. Need to have a clean workflow from the time the box of film is opened until the negative is scanned. If you are new to large format, this is a noticeable difference vs other formats.

Check for dust in the film holder, camera, negative drying area and scanner/scanner area.
Check for residue or particles in the wet processes such as developer, stop, fixer, wash, and equipment used to process the film.

It doesn't look like dry dust to me. It looks like maybe something in the chemistry or particulate that attached to the film when the emulsion was wet.

Vaughn
25-Sep-2017, 12:21
My guess it is the scanner if you can not see it on the negative. Good luck in tracking it down!

gevalia
25-Sep-2017, 12:46
Are you mixing developer from powders? If so maybe not fully dissolved.

Michael Clark
25-Sep-2017, 21:45
I was thinking air bubbles in the film development step.

MikemMG
26-Sep-2017, 00:17
Debris is in the system somewhere. Need to have a clean workflow from the time the box of film is opened until the negative is scanned. If you are new to large format, this is a noticeable difference vs other formats.

Check for dust in the film holder, camera, negative drying area and scanner/scanner area.