PDA

View Full Version : Soft focus lens, Emil Busch "Nicola Perscheid" F:4.5 F=42cm.

MagnusKarl
2-Sep-2017, 03:54
Hi.
Iīm new to the forum. I have been a medium format photographer for the last few of years but I have waited for the opportunity to move into large format.
To give a little background, my great grandfather, Magnus Olafsson, was one of the pioneers of professional photography in Iceland in the beginning of last century. He is often called the photographer of Reykjavik. I grew up with his glass plates in the garage but many decades ago his collection of glass plates and much of the equipment was donated to the Reykjavik Photography Museum were it has been very well archived and displayed.
2-3 years back I found a mint condition Voigtlander Bessa II medium format folding camera (6X9) from my grandfather (the son of the photographer). This rekindled my interest in film and I have been photographing extensively since then, using various medium format gear, mostly my beloved Mamiya 7. Recently, when we were going through my late parents garage we found two boxes with old stuff. In there was a mint condition Emil Busch "Nicola Perscheid" F:4.5 F=42cm lens with a yellow filter. Aperture movements are smooth and glass appears very clean.
I would like use this opportunity to jump into large format and would absolutely love to try this legendary portrait lens. Here is the question. What kind setup should I consider to use this lens? I had always planned to go to 4X5, especially given the fact that I have a very good DeVere 504 enlarger and do not foresee buying the monster enlargers needed for bigger formats.
The barrel diameter of the lens is 12 cm (almost 5 inches) and obviously doesnīt have a shutter. Is there any way to fit this huge lens to a 4X5 camera? Should I rather be looking at 8X10? Any recommendations on camera type that can be fitted with a shutter (Sinar?).
Thanks in advance.

jp
2-Sep-2017, 04:54