PDA

View Full Version : Sinar P2 8x10 600-1200mm realistic for outdoor photography?

andrew11
27-Aug-2017, 19:59
Hi all,

This is my first post here, I've loved how much of an incredible resource this website is and have been reading endlessly on all the available information.

I am a professional photographer and used digital and medium format cameras for a very long time but are looking to get into large format. Thanks to all the information on here I've been able to learn a lot all ready as it seems like a completely different beast from medium format. I am a landscape photographer with a special interest in long focal lengths [400mm +] I mainly drive to the general area of the location and with medium format have walked any distance required to get the shot. However I'm thinking this is impossible with a 8x10 so have decided to have a 4x4 quad motorbike fitted out to take the 8x10 so I can drive even to the hardest spots without having to carry too far.

I am looking to buy an 8x10 as well as some large focal length lenses [600-1200] although I have just realized that my brother has a Sinar P2 8x10 that he left before going overseas that I can use. I want some advice on if the P2 would be able to be used for what I've described in terms of physically possibility [weight etc] as well as good for the task [600-1200mm lenses]

Initially I was looking at using the P2 and buying these lenses here: (http://www.ebay.com/itm/142473201987) Although they are set up on a Linhof board so will have to use an adaptor?
From what I've read using these 600-1200 lenses you can only shoot 'straight through' with the P2 - I don't think this would be an issue as I've only ever shot like this with fixed focal planes [digital, medium format etc]
This is another point for choice in camera as I will be just shooting landscape with no twist needed in focus. I just want the large negative asset.