PDA

View Full Version : Lens Knife?

Joerg
24-Aug-2017, 11:13
Hi,
I'm brand new to large format photography and am looking at camera options. In the description of a Chinese rangefinder camera vendor, there is mention of a "Lens Knife." Googling the term doesn't lead to results. I gather it's a metal piece that matches the focus and/or field of view of the rangefinder camera to the lens as the bellows is adjusted. Since there is nothing on Google I'm guessing that "lens knife" is possibly not the correct term. Does above description sound familiar to anyone? Is there a different name? Is this something one has to make or have made for each focal lenght lens?
Thank you for any feedback!

Leigh
24-Aug-2017, 11:27
Hi Joerg, and Welcome Aboard.

I've never heard the term "lens knife", nor anything that might resemble that in translation.

Some rangefinders do rely on cams to control the movement of one of the mirrors.

- Leigh

Tracy Storer
24-Aug-2017, 12:01
Very probably a rangefinder cam specific to each lens focal length.

domaz
24-Aug-2017, 12:14
If Linhof rangefinder cams were actually knifes they would probably be illegal in some states. And forget getting on an airplane with it!

Oren Grad
24-Aug-2017, 12:29
Some rangefinders do rely on cams to control the movement of one of the mirrors.

Very probably a rangefinder cam specific to each lens focal length.

What Leigh and Tracy said - it's almost certainly referring to rangefinder cams. If you use plenty of imagination, the shape of the cams for the Linhof Technika rangefinder could arguably be described as resembling a knife.

Joerg
24-Aug-2017, 12:42