PDA

View Full Version : To my dismay, one of my works has been stolen.

gorsescent
23-Aug-2017, 20:40
To prosecute the perpetrators

My name is Takehiko Sato. I'm a Japanese photographer. One of my photographic works has been stolen and sold in Europe without my permission. I'd like to have the police arrest them and have them prosecuted.

If you know the perpetrators who sold the photo at the following website, please email me.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/37042223@N08/6693008267/in/album-72157651987440551/

Jim Noel
23-Aug-2017, 21:19
Did you put it on the web, or was it a print. If on the web although probably illegal, it is fair game. The same thing happened to me in the early days of the web, thus you never see images of mine except in person.

Jac@stafford.net
23-Aug-2017, 22:34
Was it stolen and put on the 'net? Where?

Corran
23-Aug-2017, 22:35
It's not "fair game" if it's on the web. That's not how copyright works, but is a common misconception. There's also the issue of local copyright laws and international copyright laws.

As for the image in question - stolen and sold how? You would have quite a slog, in terms of lawyers, paperwork, etc. to get any remuneration, so it's important to establish whether the loss of income equates to $100 or $100,000. If you have discovered that someone printed one of your images at the local drugstore I think it's best you not worry about it.

Jac@stafford.net
23-Aug-2017, 23:39
It gets complicated when considering European copyrights. For example, some images are exempt from copyright, such as architecture or sculpture which are located permanently in public places. Just to make life a little more complicated for the thief, look into steganography which is easy to do. FWIW, Japan follows the Bern Convention so European copyright is fairly applicable.

Or hire my man, Guido ... :)

stawastawa
24-Aug-2017, 00:21