PDA

View Full Version : MSK Osaka cameras

altb44
23-Aug-2017, 19:21
Anyone know about MSK Osaka cameras? How long have they been made?
I feel it is necessary to explain...I know from this forum that they are a moderately priced camera and that they are kind of the same as a Tachihara. I also see people refer to Osaka lenses. However I would like more background if anyone knows about the maker. And if anyone has one... Tell me what you think of it

Thanks. I'm feeling like the queen of dumb questions but I'm really new to this. Thanks for your patience

Jac@stafford.net
23-Aug-2017, 23:46
Anyone know about MSK Osaka cameras?

Be sure it is standard size film version.
Check this out: http://www.bromwellmarketing.com/osaka.htm

xkaes
24-Aug-2017, 07:34
Many of the "Osaka" lenses were made by Congo. Do a seach on this board and you will find discussion about them.

Mark Sampson
24-Aug-2017, 08:02
I seem to remember the Osaka 4x5 camera being available around 1980. As I recall they were similar/identical to the Anba Ikeda cameras... real featherweights. Real information was hard to come by in the pre-internet era... I bought a Hope Tachihara in 1982, and enjoyed using it. it was slightly heavier and had longer bellows than the Ikeda I had seen in a local store. (The Tachi came from a guitar store in LA who were the US distributors then, to give you an idea.) I could have bought a new Deardorff 4x5, had I known that the company was still in business.

Richard Wasserman
24-Aug-2017, 08:31
You can see all the specifications here— http://www.bromwellmarketing.com/osaka.htm

altb44
24-Aug-2017, 17:07
hmmm I saw something on ebay that was described as an Osaka and it didn't really look like those. Could it be an older version? How long were they producing cameras?

altb44
24-Aug-2017, 17:27