PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use a Berlebach 8023 with an 8x10?

ericantonio
14-Aug-2017, 09:47
I have a Kodak Master View and getting tired of my gigantic old Bogen studio tripod. I would need a lot more steroids on long walks with that thing. Someone locally is selling a Berlebach 8023 and I have the Gitzo low profile or maybe the model below that one.

Will the 8023 hold that pretty good? Not going to Antartic or Salinas Valley (WINDY!!!), just your basic hiking around kinda thing. Probably try to hold it own with a hook and a bag.

Luis-F-S
14-Aug-2017, 10:18
Nope I use a Ries. Much sturdier than my Berlebach.

Jim Noel
14-Aug-2017, 10:28
I wouldn't even put lightweight (8lb) camera on a Berlebach

ericantonio
14-Aug-2017, 10:31
Nope I use a Ries. Much sturdier than my Berlebach.

Thanks! The guy txted me back and said it was still available. Just googled the specs, said it was 21 lb limit. I don't seem to know how heavy the Master View is right now. I don't even have a scale at home! :)

David Lobato
14-Aug-2017, 10:39
That Berlebach looks okay for medium format but too light for an 8x10.

ericantonio
14-Aug-2017, 10:39
I wouldn't even put lightweight (8lb) camera on a Berlebach

Thanks! Googling around says the MasterView is ~10Kg, and max capacity of the 8023 is 10kg. Oh well. Looked like a great price. Maybe I should look into a carbon fiber

Jac@stafford.net
14-Aug-2017, 14:03
No. The tripod is borderline. Go for heavier.

ericantonio
14-Aug-2017, 14:29
No. The tripod is borderline. Go for heavier.

I actually don't mind the tripod I have now, it's just that it's darn heavy and I want to (have dreams) of carrying it around somewhere. Right now, I have a jogging stroller that I carry it on. But my dog (English Bulldog) thinks it's hers now and has dog hair all over it. No bueno around film holders.

I was thinking of looking for one of those golf bag carts on craigslist, you know the ones with 3 wheels.