PDA

View Full Version : Efke film peculiarity

dentkimterry
7-Aug-2017, 13:28
I'm just getting started with my newly aquired 11x14 outfit. Loaded some Efke film that came with it into a holder and out the door I went. After I took the first shot I realized the film holder wasn't fully inserted and that it took an extra effort to do so. No big deal. Maybe the shot could be salvaged if not much was light struck. Took a second shot, packed up and headed home. Anxious to see the results I headed right for the darkroom. Opened the film holder and pulled the film out and what! There was a piece of paper covering the film! Flipped the holder over and same thing on the other side. I had never heard about not read anything about Efke putting a piece of paper between each piece of film in the box... So nicely packaged I couldn't tell it was there. Oh well. Reloaded the holder and I'll try again tomorrow.

Jac@stafford.net
7-Aug-2017, 13:34
Yes, it should be a regular practice to find if there are separation sheets. I learned the hard way.
Best of luck with your next attempt. We learn the hard way. ;0

AtlantaTerry
7-Aug-2017, 18:30
Thin paper interleaved between sheets of film is the standard. I would be more surprised of there were none.

Corran
7-Aug-2017, 19:33
Efke film is the only film I have ever used that has paper between the sheets. It threw me off the first time too. All the Kodak, Fuji, and Ilford film I've shot have no paper. Maybe they did at one time?

Sal Santamaura
7-Aug-2017, 20:52
...All the Kodak, Fuji, and Ilford film I've shot have no paper. Maybe they did at one time?I've only been at this (LF) since the early 1980s, but never encountered Kodak or Fuji sheet film with interleaving paper. However, just under 20 years ago when I first tried Ilford, it did come with paper interleaves. That ended soon after, probably coincident with Ilford improving its emulsion hardening. Efke apparently stuck with soft, easily-scratched emulsion right up to the end. :)