PDA

View Full Version : Nikor Enlarger vs. Omege series D

Misty
8-Jul-2005, 11:04
Hello:) I am new to the wonderful world of large format phogotography and was wondering if anywone knew what type and model of enlarger I should get. Many say Omega series D enlargers are good. Right now, however I have a deal to get a Honeywell Nikor (not Nikkor) System 6x7 enlarger with 17 3/4" x 17 3/4" base. This system comes complete with-- everything-- needed in a dark room for a reasonable price. Since I am a beginner I am currently working with 4x5 negatives ...I am planning on printing them no bigger than 8x10. Is this a flexible enough system for me or only good for a while being only necessary for my current "beginner" wants and "needs" as most often I will be working no bigger than 8x10 but would sometimes like to go bigger. Is this system what I need?

Nick_3536
8-Jul-2005, 11:06
A 6x7 enlarger is limited to 6x7 negatives. You want a 4x5 enlarger or bigger to handle 4x5 negatives. A bigger enlarger can usually handle smaller negatives but the other way doesn't work.

Oren Grad
8-Jul-2005, 11:19
"6x7" refers to 6x7 centimeters, but "4x5" is 4x5 inches, so, illogical though it may seem at first, a 4x5 negative won't fit in a 6x7 enlarger.

Yes, it's confusing if you're just starting out...

Misty
8-Jul-2005, 11:19
I was wondering that:) The seller said it could fit that format but I would have to have a 4x5 negative carrier. Is there a specific 4x5 enlarger that is recommended? I know "omega" but I need something more specific like what it the model or type? Anywthing in the Omega D series, what about Beseler?

Misty
8-Jul-2005, 11:21
Once again the seller said the 4x5 format would fit with the enlarger if I had the right negative carrier is this incorrect?

Bob Salomon
8-Jul-2005, 11:29
4x5" film can not fit into a 2.25 x 2.75" (6x7cm) enlarger regardless of the carrier.