PDA

View Full Version : Help Reading A Negative Please

IanBarber
25-Jul-2017, 14:09
I am looking for a little help reading a negative.

I exposed this negative this morning as I wanted to test Pyrocat HD as a semi stand just because I am new to Pyrocat HD

Film: Kodak TMAX 400
ISO Used: 200
Developer: PyroCat HD 1.5+1+150
Time: 50 Minutes
Pre-Soak: 5 Minutes
Agitation: 60 seconds and then 15 seconds at each 1/4 interval using Paterson tank and Mod54 Holder
Water Sop bath
Ilford Fixer: 8 Minutes

To me, the negative looks a little on the bright side.

My initial thoughts is that I have probably over-exposed the negative by using ISO 200 not realising that Pyrocat HD maintains it's film speed but I am not that sure.

https://www.ianbarberphotography.co.uk/slush/pyrohd-test-semi-stand.jpg

tgtaylor
25-Jul-2017, 14:29
It looks overexposed to my eye but the rebate is good indicating proper development.

Thomas

IanBarber
25-Jul-2017, 14:32
It looks overexposed to my eye but the rebate is good indicating proper development.

Thomas

Thanks Thomas. Looks as though I was on the right track. Might try moving the ISO to nearer Box speed when using Pyro

Vaughn
25-Jul-2017, 14:33
What process will you use to print? Looks like a fine alt process negative.

IanBarber
25-Jul-2017, 14:34
I dont have a darkroom or anything like that, I will print using an Epson printer

Doremus Scudder
25-Jul-2017, 15:02
The negative looks great to me. Overexposed by one stop should be no problem with TMY either. Just print a bit darker; your positive rendering looks "underexposed" to me. There should be more than one way to scan and render negative, or...? I could certainly make a fine darkroom print from that neg.

Doremus

koraks
25-Jul-2017, 15:06