PDA

View Full Version : Bought my first LF camera - Sinar Norma

prestonedavis
17-Jun-2017, 05:41
First time poster here. This forum's info has been helpful in the info gathering process that led me to order this Sinar Norma from ebay: http://r.ebay.com/dkWVNe

I'm completely new to large format so I'm excited to get started. My question for you all is what inspection process should I go through when the camera arrives? The seller has a 30-day return policy so I want to make sure everything is in reasonable shape before that time period is up. What should I realistically expect from an old camera such as this one?

I will primarily be shooting landscapes with the occasional portraits. I'm coming over from the MF world where my weapon of choice is the Pentax 67.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice.

DG 3313
17-Jun-2017, 06:02
Welcome to the forum. The new rig looks like a great start in LF. Do you have a darkroom?

I would make sure everything tightens down and loosens up as it should. Check the camera for light leaks with a small flashlight in a dark place. Test the shutter at all speeds especially around one second. If it sounds slow at 1 sec it may need to get CLA or a new spring.

Then I'd use it. If you need any empty boxes for transporting / storing exposed film....shoot me a PM and I will mail them to you.

prestonedavis
17-Jun-2017, 07:41
Thanks for the welcome and the offer to send boxes. What sort of boxes do you mean? Like regular cardboard boxes? Something else?

I don't have a darkroom.

I'll do the light leak and shutter check for sure.

Pete Oakley
17-Jun-2017, 08:06
Check the bellows for light leaks.

prestonedavis
17-Jun-2017, 09:25
Check the bellows for light leaks.

Will do! Thanks.

chassis
17-Jun-2017, 09:31
Congratulations! Let's see some images!

Jerry Bodine
17-Jun-2017, 10:49