PDA

View Full Version : Is TRIX320 98% better than Ilford HP5 Plus ??

ndwgolf
2-Jun-2017, 11:16
Question;
I just orderer 30 sheets of TRIX320 from B&H for $240 without shipping. I now see that I could have gotten 50 sheets of Ilford HP5+ for less than that........Is TRIX that much better??

Neil

locutus
2-Jun-2017, 11:33
Not to me

David Karp
2-Jun-2017, 11:36
I love HP5+. It's not a duplicate of Tri-X. You would have to try it out.

Ken Lee
2-Jun-2017, 12:08
Is TRIX that much better??

Respectfully, if you can provide a definition of better, you'll be able to answer your own question :)

A long time Kodak film user, I now use Ilford. It's good enough for my purposes and I appreciate the difference in price.

Luis-F-S
2-Jun-2017, 12:21
I've used Tri-X for some 30 odd years. Lately, I've been shooting HP5 largely due to availability and cost. Don't have a real good feel for it yet!

dasBlute
2-Jun-2017, 14:43
I use both, but I love TXP.

Mark Sampson
2-Jun-2017, 14:47
I worked as an industrial/technical photographer for Eastman Kodak (and its successor ITT Space Systems) for 25 years. While I used many Kodak films during that time, my choice for my personal LF work was always Tri-X Pan Professional 4164. It worked quite well for me. Several years ago I decided to try Ilford FP4+. The speed difference doesn't matter to me, and I really like the quality of the prints I'm making now. I was loyal to my home town and my employer from 1982-2013, but that's long enough. Tri-X is a fine film; since you've ordered it, use it and stick with it for at least a year. That way you'll understand how it works. Then if you can imagine an improvement, try a different film and use that for a year. There ain't no 'magic bullet'!

Jac@stafford.net
2-Jun-2017, 14:58
No!

Peter Lewin
2-Jun-2017, 15:01