PDA

View Full Version : Pt/pd Printing - Making a test strip

Alan9940
1-Jun-2017, 09:22
Though I've been printing pt/pd sporadically for several years, I've decided to get more serious about it. I'd like to make a test strip to determine a Standard Printing Time, but it seems that the 4-ply matboard I normally use for making test prints under the enlarger for silver printing is not heavy enough or not UV blocking enough to work. Rather than nice clean strips across the print for each exposure increment, I get more of an overall exposure with, maybe, faint strips.

I use an Edwards Engineered Product UV exposure unit where the printing frame is placed inside the box with a door that flips down to close it. Therefore, I can't make a test strip exactly the way I do it for silver printing. I'm thinking I need some kind of UV blocking material, perhaps a few different sizes, whereby I could place a piece on top of the frame, carefully slide the frame into the exposure unit, expose, rinse-n-repeat for, at least, a few exposures across the paper?

Anyway, how do you alt process printers using UV exposure handle test strips?

Thank you for any insight provided.

Alan

cowanw
1-Jun-2017, 10:41
A small Stouffer 21 Step inserted along side your negative will help you know exactly how many stops of time you need to alter to change a particular density to another.

tgtaylor
1-Jun-2017, 10:56
Alan - I haven't yet printed a Pt/Pd but have printed a few dozen Kallitypes which are very similar. I use the sun which is plentiful here in sunny California rather than an exposure unit and what I have found is that each negative is different. For example the last negative required 6 minutes is the open shade and 45 seconds direct sun and another 4 minutes is the shade and 25 seconds in the sun. So you have to know what it should look like when you pull it and to check. I usually start checking at the 4 minute mark.

Thomas

peter schrager
1-Jun-2017, 11:01