PDA

View Full Version : Alkali vs Acid Fixers

Paul Kinzer
26-May-2017, 16:13
I feel a bit odd posting this: I am an absolute newbie to film development, so have little confidence in the theoretical knowledge I've attained through research and reading. But much of that reading is based on books that are often out of date, so I wonder if some of the information in them might be, too.

Anyway, while exploring for the right chemicals for my foray into B&W film development, I came across the Photographer's Formulary page (http://stores.photoformulary.com/art-fix/) describing their Art Fix alkali fixer. From what it describes, acid fixer seems like something that should just no longer be used. I won't go into all the details they do, but the page seems worth a read. They sure make it seem like alkali fixer is just a simpler, better answer.

I'd really be interested in what folks with experience have to say about this.

Michael R
26-May-2017, 18:05
Be careful what you read. What's written in the linked page ranges from true, to partially true, to it depends, to not true.

Neutral/alkaline fixers can have a few benefits vs equivalent acidic fixers depending on formulation, how acidic the acid fixer is, hardening vs non-hardening, regular vs rapid, etc. Without getting into too many details, the main benefit of non-acidic fixers - generally speaking - is that they will tend to wash out of photographic materials (particularly fiber-based papers) faster than acidic fixers. However it really depends on which acidic fixer and alkaline fixer you are comparing. Non-acidic fixers can also be more stable and have higher capacities, but again it depends on the formulation.

Note Art Fix is not a rapid fixer. If you want to use one of Formulary's fixers, I'd first suggest TF-5, which is a neutral rapid fixer and pretty much the state of the art as far as commercially available products go. Try TF-4 if you want an alkaline rapid fixer.

LabRat
26-May-2017, 20:07