PDA

View Full Version : Pyrocat question...

Christopher Barrett
14-May-2017, 18:28
I'm new to Pyro and am using PyrocatMC in my Jobo with Fuji Acros. Though I'm really pleased with the feel of my negs, I had to drop my speed considerably. Acros runs pretty true to 100 in XTol but feels more like 25 in my Pyro routine. I'm doing 1:1:100 for 10 minutes at 20°C. I just did a speed test, lighting a grey card with strobe. My Zone I neg at ISO 32 returned a density of .05 over B+F, which is still thin, so an ISO of 25 seems closer to true for me. My Zone I to Zone VIII showed a density diff of 1.07, so I'm gonna bump my dev time up 25% and go again.

Thoughts? Advice?

Thanks!
-CB

xkaes
14-May-2017, 19:40
I haven't used a pyro developer in years, but it sounds like you know what you are doing and are on the right track.

There are two "pyros" out there and both are developing agents with similar chemical structures:

-- Pyro, AKA Pyrogallic acid, Pyrogallol

-- Pyrocatechin, AKA Catechol, Pyrocatechol, ortho-dihydroxybenzene

I've only used the later and don't know the differences in effects. Perhaps other do. But be careful, at least the latter is a severe irritant -- probably th former as well.

FYI, if anyone on this board wants an ounce of the latter, I can send it to you for the price of shipping.

Alan9940
14-May-2017, 21:03
I've used Pyrocat-HD for many years to develop several different films and fairly recently started experimenting with -MC and I've never measured that much loss in film speed. Is the stock developer fresh? Are you running the Jobo at its slowest speed?

koraks
15-May-2017, 01:02