PDA

View Full Version : Film Developer and a confused old fool.

DCphotos
24-Apr-2017, 09:44
Ok, so I'm not by any means new to film processing, I'm a professional photographer and I've been doing it over 30 years. I've been getting pretty good results with HC110 and Tri-X 320 for my large format stuff. I have come to swear by xtol for the 35mm and 120.

So anyhow B&H is out of HC110 and I don't want to wait. I used to have a lot of fun with the products photographers formulary makes, but I bought them at a store that no longer exist or ordered from a catalog. Going to their website I see more than I can read about. It sounds like ABC Pyro is what I want. Perhaps you guys can explain or suggest some others, I am mostly doing landscape stuff but will be doing some portraits in studio very soon as well.

Leigh
24-Apr-2017, 09:48
How about Freestyle or Adorama for HC-110?

- Leigh

Thalmees
24-Apr-2017, 10:25
Hello DCphotos,
Welcome to the forum.
I think Rodinal is the logic alternative of HC-110.
Both are versatile, but it's not the most important character of a developer.
I used to use HC-110 for long time, but replaced by TMxRs and DDx.
Now, after trying HRX with FP4+, I think I will reconsider priorities again for films and developers.
Sorry, do not know ABC Pyro.

eabartel
24-Apr-2017, 11:10
i use ABC pyro from photographers formulary and quite like it for both landscapes and portraits. I've purchased it from them, B&H, and amazon depending on what all i'm getting and the shipping.

Mark Sampson
24-Apr-2017, 11:48
If you're using XTOL for roll film, try it with sheet film. Diluted 1:1 you can get a nice long tonal scale, and sharpness and grain will be at least the equal of HC-110'B'. 25 years in the labs at Kodak sent me from D-76 to HC-110 to XTOL.