PDA

View Full Version : Converting a 4x5 Cambo to an 8x10 using a Back.

Axle
17-Jun-2005, 09:41
Hi Fellow LF'ers

I recently fell in love with the large format world, I bougt my first 4x5 camera a month ago. Its a CAMBO monorail system with a super angulon 120 that came with it.

I have taken some spectacular shots of the harbour bridge and opera house here in sydney australia with it, but when taking a portrait last weel (with a longer lens) the idea clicked in my head that if I used an 8x10 camera, id have an almost 1:1 representation of my subjects face! That idea just turned me right on.

So my question is, since i am a student on a limited budget, going out and spending more on an 8x10 is out of the question, is it possible to just buy an 8x10 back for my cambo monorail and use the same front and rail? Obviously ill need different bellows... is there anything like this available??

As i said the idea of shooting a portrait of a face on a piece of film at 1:1 rocks my boat. Any info would be appreciated.

Ernest Purdum
17-Jun-2005, 10:27
Yes, it's possible, see www.calumetphoto.com. Be aware, though, that this could be the first step of a never-ending quest for more versatility. For example, you would immediately find out that, although your 120mm Super Angulon would cover 8" X 10" when racked out to give a 1:1 portrait, you'd have weird perspective, the "big schnoz" problem.. O.K., a longer lens, oops, need a longer rail, and so on and on.

With your student's limited budget, I think spending your money on 4" X 5" film would be a good idea for the moment.

Nick_3536
17-Jun-2005, 11:13
Odds are you can buy a whole 8x10 monorail for less then a bellows. My Cambo 8x10 cost less then a new bellows would.

But like Ernest said it's a bit of a never ending money pit. New film holders. May need different processing equipment. Etc.

Axle
17-Jun-2005, 22:04
THanks guy for your answers.