PDA

View Full Version : Help finding an 8x10

Phovsho
2-Apr-2017, 22:53
Dear All

I'm about to buy my first 8x10 set up. Whilst I have a Linhoff IV I'm really rather new to LF. I'm attracted to the image making process with an 8x10 as much as anything - taking time out of a busy life. My primary interests are available light portraits and a bit of landscape/street scenes.

Anyways, I am after a high quality wooden 8x10 field camera set up. I'm open to either new or used. My preference would be second hand but I need to be confident that the camera is in great shape and only requiring a little bit of maintenance now and then. I live in New Zealand so shipping a LF camera around the world on a regular basis for repairs gets old (and expensive) pretty quick. So my hesitation with buying used is the camera isn't "as advertised" - always the danger with Ebay.

I generally like fine things and am attracted to the idea of finding a camera first time which is a special camera and a lifetime companion. So willing to spend a bit more on a great example of a great camera (and lenses).

My questions at this stage:

1. Is eBay the best place to buy used? I couldn't see a "buy and sell" section on this forum - I was hoping there was one because here you are more likely to be dealing with true entuasiasts. Are there better alternatives than eBay with respect to LF cameras?

2. There are a number of Deardorffs on Ebay at present. A couple are said to be mint but expensive. Others look a little more used but are potentially smooth nice cameras. I appreciate there are always risks but is this even a sensible path to be taking? I chose Deardorff because of its history and generally good reputation. But I'm not attached to them in anyways - they seemed ow risk and beautiful. Should I forget the nostalgia and buy later cameras?