PDA

View Full Version : 65mm on linhof Tech III?

Rowan Conroy
14-Jun-2005, 22:26
I am relatively new to Large format. I bought a Linhof Technica Version III about six months ago and now I am contemplating the purchase of a wide angle lens- the 65mm Nikkor SW f/4 but I am unsure about a number of issues - firstly will I be able to focus this lens? or will the infinity focus point be somewhere in that gap between the internal rails that and the focussing bed?

a local linhof distributor - said the tech III was compatible with 65mm lenses is this correct? If so what are some of the considerations in going this wide on Tech III?

any advice would be appreciated

Sydney, Australia

David A. Goldfarb
14-Jun-2005, 23:02
To focus a 65mm lens, you'll need a Wideangle Focusing Device, if you can find one for the Tech III.

Juergen Sattler
15-Jun-2005, 04:58
I used to own a Tech III (Version 5) and the widest lens I ever used on it was a 90mm Grandagon. I cannot imagine how you could focus a 65mm even with a recessed lensboard - the controls would be impossible to reach. As David said you'd need one of these wide angle devices but I am not sure they existed at all for the Tech IIIs AND they are quite expensive. I could see a 75mm lens on a Tech III (with recessed board) but not a 65mm.

David A. Goldfarb
15-Jun-2005, 08:06
I've seen an early version of the Wideangle Focusing Device that did not take interchangeable lensboards like the current version. Instead it was drilled for one lens. I think they made them in this style for both the Tech III and early on for the Tech IV, but Bob Salomon can confirm.

Dan Neilson
15-Jun-2005, 18:09