PDA

View Full Version : Possible Lens Flare Issue...

macmaster77
25-Mar-2017, 15:02
Hello all!

I have been shooting LF for about six months now. I ran into an issue yesterday that is new to me. Part of the negative was a tad lighter than the other side. After much input, (checking the bellows, lens mount, film holder, etc. for light leaks) I can confirm that the camera and holders are light tight. The only thing that I can come up with is that it's lens flare issue. I was shooting the subject at 12:00 position and I was at 6:00 position. The sun was located at 11:00. When I used to shoot digital, I used to always use a lens hood. I have a Nikon W 300mm f/5.6 mounted in a Copal 3 shutter (Zone VI 8x10). I was considering getting a screw in rubber lens hood (95mm). I was wondering if anyone has tried these. Someone mentioned the other types of hoods (name escapes me right now) but they were like $600-$800 which is a bit out of my price range right now. Any suggestions would be great. Thanks in advance!

Jac@stafford.net
25-Mar-2017, 15:14
Your description is good, however an image would help. Oh, a lens shade is always a good idea. One is a shade on a flexible stalk to move to the critical position. I will try to find an example.

macmaster77
25-Mar-2017, 15:20
Here is the photo...

Tobias Key
25-Mar-2017, 15:20
If you can get one for your camera, a compendium hood is what you want. They have a bellows that can be moved in and out shifted up or sideways and will swing out of the way so you can access the shutter. I have one for my Toyo monorail, listed at $658 new, I bought mine for £35 used from a reputable dealer in the UK. They are one of those things that have a real minority market, so if you find one they will be priced well below their actual value or utility to you. They can make a huge difference to the final quality of an image, particularly if you like single coated or uncoated lenses.

macmaster77
25-Mar-2017, 15:24