PDA

View Full Version : Continuous Lighting

kcombublate
2-Mar-2017, 04:32
Hi, I am new to studio photography and have recently purchased a Lowel Omni to do some still life shots. However, I am not very pleased with the Omni as the 230V bulbs are really expensive, fragile and and in general, the omni seems to have problem with arcing and should not be moved when lit. Anyone else faces the same problem?

I am looking to purchase something that can be moved when lit so that I can work on my still life better. Do you have any recommendations of continuous lighting for me? I understand that strobe might work better, but I like the versatility of continuous lighting as it allow me to work in both video and photography.

I am open to fluorescent light too, but from what I understand it is harder to cast hard light as the multiple bulbs are used and are in general of lower wattage. I've heard that the DP is much more rugged and could be moved when lit, unlike the omni and pro-light. So far, I have been pretty disappointed with Lowel products... Help!!

Christopher Barrett
2-Mar-2017, 05:49
That's interesting. I used Omnis for years, moved them around when lit and didn't lose bulbs that fast. I did notice, however, when we were shooting in the UK and had to switch to 220 or 230v bulbs, that they would blow much faster. It probably has more to do with the bulbs you're getting than the Omni itself. If you really want a hard light, I'd suggest trying different bulb manufacturers before giving up on it. The DP isn't really any more rugged, just bigger.

HTH,
CB

neil poulsen
2-Mar-2017, 10:09