PDA

View Full Version : Bellows extension requirements for close up ‘Blurred tip of nose’ wide open portrait

Lullu
27-Feb-2017, 20:16
Hi all,

I’m new to large format camera and trying to figure out the focal length and bellows extension requirements for close up full head and shoulders with ‘Blurred tip of nose and ears’ wide open portrait shot. For the Rodenstock 210mm f5.6 Sironar-N lens, would 350mm bellows extension enough for shots like that? Would 250mm bellows extension too short for that?

I’m thinking of getting a Chamonix hs-1 (bellows 50~250mm) or h1 (bellows 60~350mm) and a suitable portrait lens.

Many thanks in advance.

Randy
28-Feb-2017, 05:00
I would think (almost) any lens will give you that affect. A 210mm lens on a camera with 350mm bellows extension should do it. 250mm of bellows may not be enough to get the dramatic shallow depth of focus you desire, with a 210mm lens, but with a 150mm lens it should be enough.

Dan Fromm
28-Feb-2017, 05:39
Hmm. Something doesn't compute here. With a 210 mm lens, 350 mm of extension gives magnification of ~ 0.75. At that magnification an adult's head and shoulders won't fit on 4x5 film.

Ken Lee
28-Feb-2017, 07:41
With a 210mm lens at typical portrait distance and open to f/5.6 , the depth of field will be rather shallow: you can search the web for depth of field calculators to see the exact number. The trick is to come in close and open the lens wide. Hold your subject steady or even the slightest movement will spoil the effect.

Required bellows extension depends on focal length, subject distance and desired magnification. You may find this page helpful: http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/tech/bellows.php

Tobias Key
28-Feb-2017, 07:58