PDA

View Full Version : Financing Stuff: The Survey

MIke Sherck
8-Jun-2005, 07:03
There's been a lot of discussion recently regarding new purchases -- new cameras, new lenses, new "stuff" in general. Some of the "stuff" has been older auction purchases, some has been new from dealers, some (probably) not too expensive, some (possibly) quite costly. I've been watching all this and am burning with curiosity (considered becoming an economist at one point: forgive me!!)

How do most of you, particularly those who are not professional photographers (in the old sense of professional, as one who earns an income from it,) finance your purchases? Cash or credit? For purposes of this survey, those of you who use a credit card and pay the bill in full when it arrives can claim to be paying cash.

I'm not a professional photographer, and I pay cash for my "stuff", which isn't a very extensive lineup. In terms of item count, about half what I buy comes from auction, the other half from dealers such as Jim at Midwest. In terms of dollars, it's about 75% dealers and 25% auction, because if I'm going to buy something expensive (like my Wisner Technical Field,) I feel more comfortable with a known entity, such as Jim.

Jim Rhoades
8-Jun-2005, 07:14
Cash, but credit is OK if you have to. Remember leaving money to your kids will do you no good at all. Let them work for it. It will make them a better, stronger person.

Dan Harbour
8-Jun-2005, 07:30
If you don't use it, eBay it. If you can't afford it, use a cheaper camera.

Ed Weston used crappy gear and did OK by it. You probably could too.

paulr
8-Jun-2005, 07:40
What Dan said. Try to get by with less stuff.

When that fails,

1) ebay something else to pay for the new thing

2) try to sell a print

3) crrrrrrredit!

4) as an absolute last resort, look for more work.

5) larceny is another option, if you're crafty. file this under "involuntary grants for the arts."

Edward (Halifax,NS)
8-Jun-2005, 07:42
If over $200 => credit