PDA

View Full Version : Durst Laborator S-45 Special first use

Irishvoyageur
17-Feb-2017, 20:17
I have this old resurrected enlarger which I believe is similar to the Durst 138. I just started using this enlarger with PH212 light source. This is a smaller bulb than the original and only 150 watts. When I enlarged to make an 8x10 print, I had to stop down to F32 to get a printing time of about 25-30 seconds. I am not using any filters and am using the standard condensing lenses (latico 200 and 240). I am wondering if I am compromising the quality (sharpness) of my enlargement by using such a small aperature? This is my first time at printing so I need all the help I can get. Thank you!

Luis-F-S
17-Feb-2017, 21:14
Try to get a dimmer or a transformer to decrease the voltage, thus lower the light intensity of the bulb. This will allow you to print at a larger aperture. You can also try a G40 bulb, it's 150 watts and a much larger envelope (bulb size) which should give better coverage. L

loonatic45414
17-Feb-2017, 22:03
I built a dimmer knob & switch box. Switch in one position is full bright for focusing, then switch to variable for printing.

I try to stay on f/8 around 20 seconds which allows burning & dodging without cooking the negative. Makes the bulb last much longer too.

Sent from my 0PJA2 using Tapatalk

koraks
18-Feb-2017, 02:49
I ran into the same issue with a Durst 138 with a 250W bulb. I just screwed in a 75W or a 150W bulb and went my merry way.

Irishvoyageur
18-Feb-2017, 06:10
Thanks all! I will look into obtaining or making a dimmer. Would using some type of neutral filter work as well in the filter holder near the lamp source?

loonatic45414
18-Feb-2017, 08:05
If you used a gel filter it would likely discolor or melt over time. My bulb is expensive & hard to find, so the dimmer was feasible. If you have a standard screw bulb, just find a lower wattage one.