PDA

View Full Version : Need help from Wista metalfield owners

Ron Marshall
28-May-2005, 22:01
I am new to LF and I am enjoying it tremendously. I have a Sinar F1 which is great from the car but I need something lighter for one or two day hikes, maximum 5.5 Lb. I prefer monorails, so the only light and compact monorail in my price range, the Toho 45fx, is a possibility. I am also considering the Wista VX.

I am wondering if the operation of a metalfield such as the Wista is much more complex or cumbersome than a monorail, and if it would offer any advantages over the Toho, perhaps allowing me to sell the Sinar and go with only one camera.

What is the Wista's actual weight? The specs say 5.3 Lb.

Can it focus a 75mm at infinity with the standard bellows?

Is it more rigid and does it have smoother and more precise movements than the Toho?

How simple is it to fold and unfold?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Bob Salomon
29-May-2005, 07:52
102.3 oz.

No. You will need the recessed board and a wa bellows. The Technika can focus a 75 at infinity with just the recessed board.

Probably

Very

Let me know if you would like a comparison sheet that includes Wista cameras.

Robert Ley
29-May-2005, 09:41