PDA

View Full Version : Schneider Super-Angulon 165

André Thomas
27-May-2005, 01:59
I'm new to 8x10" and only have an old Symmar 360 which I like a lot for b/w. In 5x7" my preferred lens is the Super-Angulon 120. Since I have this lens I seldom use my 90 or 150 lens. So my next lens for 8x10" should be in the range of 165mm. Unfortunately there is no new lens with 165mm.

I found some posts about the Super-Angulon 165 and some say it's a poor lens. Are there any user in this forum that will share there experience with this lens?

The next lenses that come to mind are the Super-Symmar HM 210, Sironar W 210 or Angulon 210. My 8x10" camera is a Wisner traditional. I will use this camera to take b/w pictures of landscape and buildings in the classic look with tilt but not with much shift (for architecture I have my 5x7" Linhof Kardan).

I also think about the new Super-Symmar XL 150 but I don't know if it is to wide for my taste. The good news would be, that I could use the centerfilter of my Super-Angulon XL 72.

I would be very happy to get some thoughts from you.

Thank you, André

Carl Weese
27-May-2005, 05:34
The 165mm Super Angulon is an excellent lens. It has generous coverage for 8x10 with lots of room for adjustments. There is fine definition and contrast across the whole image field. It's very big and heavy though, a potential drawback if you are hiking with it. Depending on what you will be doing with it, you may need a center filter, which will be enormous and expensive.---Carl

Ole Tjugen
27-May-2005, 05:37
I use an even older Angulon (non-super) 165mm and think it's a great lens! Coverage is tight on 8x10", but great on 5x7". I also have a 121mm Super-Angulon for use on 5x7" and 18x24cm (my big camera is very old), but it seems I prefer wider lenses than you do.

The Super-Angulon 165mm is a big and heavy lens, the 210mm Angulon is a lot lighter.

André Thomas
27-May-2005, 05:49
Carl,