PDA

View Full Version : Looking for the right lens 4x5

Ronald Eaton
20-May-2005, 14:18
Hi I am new to large format and getting in on a very limited budget, I have purchased a Calumet cc400 with a 19” rail and some film holders and a roll film back on e-bay now I need a lens and at this point I could use some help choosing the right one at an inexpensive price. What I want to shoot is sea and landscapes and some mountain scenes. Any suggestions
Thank You
Ron Eaton
Las Vegas, Nevada

Dave Moeller
20-May-2005, 14:31
I think it depends on what your definition of "a very limited budget" is. You can generally pick up a 135mm f/4.7 press camera lens (Graflex Optar, for example) for around $50 on eBay. 90mm f/6.8 Angulons (not Super Angulons) can generally be had for under $200 with just a little patience. Neither of these lenses give you much extra coverage beyond 4x5, but they will cover the negative and you can still use back tilt for controlling the plane of sharp focus. (With the roll film holder in place you'll be able to use more movements.)

If you just want to get a lens so you can start shooting something, then I'd say go for the 135mm and start saving for some better glass. Better in this case meaning something that will cover a wider circle so you can use the movements on your camera to their fullest effect. Unless you're planning on making huge enlargements, you don't need the latest-and-greatest lenses, but it never hurts to find a lens that's reasonably sharp and that gives you lots of room for movements. There are great deals to be had on older Schneider convertible lenses on eBay, but they'll cost you more than either of the "starter" lenses I mentioned above.