PDA

View Full Version : Are there any Print Out Papers (POP) left?

Myriophyllum
15-Dec-2016, 15:51
Hi,

I've been using Centennial POP paper by Kentmere (Aristotypie) for some years.
Some of my photos here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/136145166@N02/albums/72157676072065411.
With Centennial being discontinued, APP Collodio POP is/was a equal replacement for me... it seems to be unavailable now, i still have some papers, but I have to look for something similar in future.

Any ideas what I could take? I like Adox Lupex, but it is no POP, tonality and depth are different.
I prefer surfaces like glossy baryta papers, so doing salt prints or Pd/Pt on matte paper isn't an alternative.

Greetings
Jens

Mark Sampson
15-Dec-2016, 18:36
Jens,
The last producer/retailer of PoP in the USA was Chicago Albumen Works. I think theirs was called 'Centennial' as well, perhaps it was the same Kentmere product; in any case it's been gone for some years now. c.1979/81 I was a photographer for a regional chain of portrait studios, and they still sent out unfixed 'red proofs' to their customers, in the time-honored fashion. They were made on Kodak Studio Proof paper, now long gone. I didn't realize, then, how to use that paper to make permanent prints; and I did not use large-format cameras in my personal work at the time. An opportunity missed... good luck in your search!

jnantz
15-Dec-2016, 19:37
hi jens

APP is that victor of alternative photo products ?
in one of steve anchell's darkroom cookbooks
there is a recipe that mark osterman wrote up on how to do it.
https://books.google.com/books?id=u67OCwAAQBAJ&pg=PT362&lpg=PT362&dq=darkroom+cookbook+aristotype&source=bl&ots=89XloW_uE_&sig=y49Y7YVlECIGrj5dgNeER0eIwcw&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwju7Oyw1_fQAhVriVQKHSGQBfUQ6AEIITAB#v=onepage&q=darkroom%20cookbook%20aristotype&f=false

probably you don't want to make it yourself but just in case ...

john

Myriophyllum
15-Dec-2016, 20:06
hi jens