PDA

View Full Version : Question - Lens boards for older Nagaoka 4x5

EdC
7-Dec-2016, 12:04
I was considering a 4x5 field camera to complement my monorail, and found a Nagaoka at an absurdly low price. I called the retailer about this, and asked them about the camera. They explained that the low price is due to this being an early model which takes a lens board that is not readily available. I'm no expert, but I hadn't heard of this before. I've done some research since that time, and have not found anything on this. I could not find a US importer. I was thinking about contacting someone like SK Grimes to see if they had any information, but thought I'd check with the forum first. Any information on this?

Thanks,

Ed

Great forum, by the way, It's been a real plus to have all of this information available.

blue4130
7-Dec-2016, 15:02
I have one that also must be early as my lens boards are a non-standard size. Mine are 94mmx104mm. It was pretty easy to have them custom made. I used flat carbon fiber that was 2mm thick. Total cost was about $7 each. As for the camera, I love it. Nice and light.

EdC
8-Dec-2016, 07:52
Thanks for the information, Vance! Is the lens board perfectly flat, or did you have to add felt or deal with some sort of groove in the front standard? I did compare your stated dimensions with a standard Technika/Wista board, and those measure 98mm high and 96mm wide, so that sort of eliminates the possibility of having an adapter made. Hmmmm...... I'll have to think about this a bit. The Nagaoka that I located is priced at roughly half of what a later model would sell for.

Does yours have the same specs as later models in terms of movements and bellows draw, etc.?

Thanks,

Ed

blue4130
8-Dec-2016, 14:41
I had flat boards made, and have had no problem with light leaks even in bright sun. I've thought about adding felt as the carbon fiber has a sheen to it, but haven't yet because I've had no problems so far.